Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of the Province of Manitoba

Honorary Life Membership

to

GARLAND E. LALIBERTE

B.Sc., M.Sc., Ph.D. (Agricultural Engineering), P.Eng.

Garland Laliberte became registered with this Association on February 28, 1968, and has been a member continuously for 35 years. He had previously been a member of the Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists of Alberta since 1960. Garland graduated from the University of Saskatchewan with a B.Sc. (1956) and a M.Sc. (1961) in Agricultural Engineering. He obtained his Ph.D. from the University of Colorado in 1966.

Garland served as a member of Council from 1985 to 1990, and he was President in 1989. He also served on the Executive Finance Committee for five years, Board of Examiners (now the Academic Review Committee) for six years, the Admissions Board for four years, the Nominating Committee for three years, the Ad-Hoc Committee on Group Practice Licensing for two years, the Ad-Hoc Committee on the Code of Ethics for two years, the Ad-Hoc Committee on Technologists for three years and the Awards Committee for two years. This makes a total of 33 committee-years of service to APEGM.

In addition, Garland served as the APEGM Director on the Board of the Canadian Council of Professional Engineers (CCPE) in 1990. He then served on the Executive of CCPE for three years and was elected President of CCPE in 1994.

Garland received the Association's Outstanding Service Award in 1994, and in 1998 he was recognized by the Canadian Council of Professional Engineers when it presented him with its Professional Service Award.

During his tenure as Dean of Engineering at the University of Manitoba from 1989 to 1994, Garland Laliberte continued to be an avid supporter of the Association.

Garland's many talents and insights have made him a most valuable member of this Association. The Association is grateful for the commitment and leadership Garland has provided over the years and feels he is a most deserving recipient of this award.

October 24, 2003

Lawrence Ferchoff, P.Eng. President

David A. Ennis, P.Eng. Registrar